In the wake of Jessica Chastain, Will Smith and Agnès Jaoui, we reveal this year’s jury composed of five women and four men, who are:


The American actress Kristen Stewart

The French actress Léa Seydoux

The Quebecois director Denis Villeneuve (IncendiesPrisonersBlade Runner 2049)

The French director Robert Guédiguian (Marius and JeannetteArmy of Crime, The House by the Sea)

American screenwriter Ava DuVernay (Middle of NowhereSelma)

The Russian director Andrey Zvyagintsev (LeviathanLoveless)

The Burundian singer  Khadja Nin (who collaborated with Sting)

The Taiwanese actor Chang Chen (muse for the Lacoste and Yamaha brands, and who starred in Chinese Odyssey in 2002 and Mr. Long)


This dynamic new jury presided over by the Australian actress Cate Blanchett, will announce the winners of the 71st film festival on May 19th, following a fierce competition between Jean-Luc Godard, Spike Lee and Asghar Farhadi (whose film is opening the event and stars Penelope Cruz and Javier Bardem) but also directors under surveillance in their home countries like the Russian Kirill Serebrennikov and Iranian Jafar Panahi.